The late Ray Jewell instigated a meeting in the early 1980s with numismatists from each State with the view to establishing a national body to both speak on behalf of all collectors in Australia and produce a national journal. Volume 1 of our journal was printed in 1985, and some years later a constitution was formerly adopted. Funds were raised by holding fairs and receiving donations from the issuing authorities. Today funds are raised by sponsorships, memberships, donations and the sponsoring State societies.

Members receive discounts on NAA special publications and NAA conference registration fees.

All Australian and overseas collectors and numismatists can register to be placed on our confidential NAA email list. From time to time you will receive details of special events etc. To register or deregister just email the secretary


  • The Association shall publish a National Journal at regular intervals.
  • The Association shall provide a unified voice for the societies and clubs of Australia.
  • The Association will endeavour to promote numismatics in all its phases throughout Australia.


You can download the NAA Constitution from here.


The Numismatic Association of Australia is incorporated in the State of Victoria, ABN 49 604 246 950.

Office Bearers

President: Walter Bloom
Vice-President: Richard O’Hair
Secretary: Darren Burgess
Treasurer: Philip Richards


2018/2019 State Representatives:

NSW Rod Sell
Qld Gerry Doyle
SA Peter Lane
Vic Darren Burgess
WA Walter Bloom

New Zealand Representative: David Galt

Elected Councilors: Barrie Newman, Ken Sheedy

Managing Editor: Gil Davis

Production Editor: Barrie Newman

Proof Editor: John O’Connor

Honorary Auditor: Mona Loo

Website Designer: Mark Nemtsas

Website Manager: Walter Bloom

Any problems with (or updates to) this website should be reported to the Website Manager.